[My Mind] Having the first assignment of C programming course at Department of Computer Science!

This Tuesday, professor of the C programming course gave us our very first assignment. We were asked to do the coding on a Linux server and saved files in specific manners. As you can see, I’ve already been quite familiar with Linux, so it is not difficult for me at all. The only thing that bothers me a little is that we can only use “vi editor” to code. At first, I have no access to the assignment server because I will not officially enroll the course until I send out the application form. Even so, I still needed an environment to practice how to operate vi editor. Thus, I installed vi editor on Arch Linux in my laptop. I found it really hard to use not because it is command-operated, but it does not allow cursor movement in insert mode! That means I need to press esc to exit insert mode and then I can move the cursor; If I want to type after that I need to enable insert mode again, and so on. Luckily, I found that the vi editor on the assignment server is somehow different from the one I installed. It allows cursor movement in insert mode!!! Yeah!!! That really makes me feel much more better since that is ten-time easier than the original on my Linux. Now, it is time for me to finish my assignment! Hope that I will be able to follow the course well as I’ve done so far.

One thought on “[My Mind] Having the first assignment of C programming course at Department of Computer Science!

Leave a Reply

