[Gnome] How to switch window controls to the left

If you know Linux well, you will know that everything, everything is editable. There is no exception in the famous desktop environment – Gnome. Gnome is known for its elegant design and easy customization, and many Linux users love to tweak this well-designed desktop environment to all kinds of looks, and some even tweak it to look like Windows or Mac OSX. For me, I admire the UI design of Mac OSX, so I like to tweak my Linux to look like Mac OSX. I found shell themes and icon themes to make it looks as similar as possible¬†and even edited the themes directly since most of the components are written in CSS (web-design language for styling) which I happen to know. But after tweaking it to almost perfect, there is just one thing that I cannot figure out how to change – the position of the window control buttons. The reversed (on the left side) position of window control buttons is the feature of Mac OSX. I think that the position doesn’t really affect UX or the attractiveness of UI, but it looks that way on OSX so I must try to change that too. Luckily after some searching, I finally found the method that works for me (since I am using Arch, many Ubuntu methods will not apply). There is actually one step only, just run this command in your terminal:

$ gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences button-layout close,minimize,maximize: 

VOILA!

 

Source: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2348381

Leave a Reply

